Story Time

Book Club Selections: June

So yes, I am in a book club. I love it. So I thought I would share with the cyber family what books we are reading and what are upcoming choices are. Just to give you guys some ideas as to which book to read next. (This book club also tends to include wine tasting….)

book-club-logo

We are just a small book club (4 people to be exact, as of right now) we do not have a name or anything crazy like that. It is just a few of my co-workers and friends of ours that get together once a month to go over a specific title and choose a new one for the following month. We try to select authors that we have never heard of, genres we wouldn’t normally read, classics, banned booked and so on. To be honest it’s been a blast!

This first post is going to be a bit back logged as I started this book club back in June and it is now the end of August (WHAAAAAT?!). I will try not to give spoilers away! I really do want you guys to go out and read these books on your own, there hasn’t been a dud book yet. Which I am pleased about.

Our (first ever) June Pick:

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

June Book Club

All I can say about this book was that it was amazing. I have never read anything so unique before. This book is based around the time of the Nazi war. Usually I don’t read war books, life is depressing enough as it is, that I usually want to escape to a completely different world. So that being said I was skeptical to read this. I am very glad I read this. Very, very glad!

The cover of this book caught my attention right away, upon reading the back of it I instantly thought “Ooh! Heather would love this!” (Heather is my history buff co-worker who lives for stories like this.) I showed her the book, she thought it sounded wonderful and BAM! Book club was started.

More about the book…. It has two young main characters, Marie-Laure and Werner. It tells the tale about their lives and how they intertwine throughout their whole journey. One neat part about this book is that Marie-Laure is blind!!! Have you ever read a book with a blind main character? I had not, so I found this fascinating. Everything was described with sound and touch and smell rather than sight. It was beautifully written.

Marie- Laure lives with her Father in Paris, her father works at the Museum of Natural history and their tale is connected to a mysterious gem said to have magical powers… OOOHHHHH!!!  I was very drawn in, within moments of cracking this book open. (I also am very interested to know if a gem like the one mentioned actually exists in the Museum of Natural History…)

Werner is an orphaned boy who lives with his sister in coal-mining town in Germany. He resides in an orphanage and is forever fixing radios and other mechanical trinkets. Until one day he gets summoned to the academy of Hitler Youth. (Dun dun duuuuuuh!) Werner is very good at what he does and people start to take notice, assigning him special tasks and projects. Then one fateful day Werner and Marie-Laure’s paths finally converge!

EEEHH!!!!! The suspense!!!!!!

The book jumps around from past to present, which I thought would get confusing, but the author does a brilliant job of keeping everything easy to understand. The chapters are also really short, so if you are busy and only get a few moments to read here and there, it’s perfect. Here is the summary of the book to give you a better idea of what it is about… I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to almost everyone. Male, female, young, old. It is a fantastic read!

Any other good books to suggest???

XO

Breanna

2 thoughts on “Book Club Selections: June

Leave a Reply

