Story Time

Book Club Selections: July

book-club-logo

If you are in the mood for a feel good, feel horrid, emotional roller coaster type of book, LOOK NO FURTHER!

Our little book club chose The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein as our second book.

I could not put this book down. We have a month to finish reading each book… I read this one in 4 days. It is a very easy read, fast-moving chapters and full of crazy life lessons. I tell yeah, this book was good.

July Book Club

The start of the story was super depressing!!! I started the novel (seriously, I kid you not) and thought to myself “Umm, nope!”

The story is about a young family and all their trials and tribulations. Plot twist? It’s told through the eyes of their loveable dog, Enzo. Me being an animal lover, I was pumped to read this book. Until I broke open the first page and realized the dog is telling you this story as he is DYING! I closed the book.

But, curiosity got the best of me and I pushed on, plodded through the pages, and before I knew it, I was closing the book, blinking back happy tears! This book should be titled ” Perceiver: Never Give Up!” To be honest, I finished this book just as my plane going to Vancouver was landing. So there I was, sitting in the middle of everyone, trying not to bawl my eyes out. I succeeded. I did not ruin my mascara.

I don’t want to give too much away but the main (human) character Denny is a Race-car driver, his wife has mysterious, crazy mood swings, and their young daughter spends a lot of time with her grandparents (They are the worst people alive in fiction. I hated them.). As their life goes on Enzo sees everything, goes through all the hard times with Danny, loves his daughter completely and hates the grandparents just as much as I did. Enzo is very philosophical, and insightful. I always thought my dog O’Malley had opinions of his own, and now I am solid in that belief.

The book is full of amazing quotes and life lessons, all relating back to the art of racing. Not being a race-car enthusiast I didn’t know if I would like this aspect, but the author applied it to real life situations in a way that everyone could relate to.

It is a very good, real-life novel and I think lots of people would love it. It is heart wrenching, humorous, terrifying, outraging, uplifting and everything in between. Grab a Kleenex box before you start. I highly recommend this book.

Has anyone else read this novel? Thoughts? Opinions? Likes? Dislikes? I would love to know what you guys thought.

Coming Soon: Our August pick… Life after Life By Kate Atkinson

XO

Breanna

Leave a Reply

