All Things Beauty

Makeup Geek Duochrome Shadows

I have been following Makeup Geek Cosmetics for quite some time now and I love all their products. I don’t think Marlena has come out with a bad product yet.

You go girl! 

Recently (some of you might already know this) she came out with her Duochrome Shadows and Pigments. I watched her swatch video and was blown away. I raced over to her site to order everything (obviously) and the pigments were all sold out but the shadows were still available. So I bought them all!

Names from Left to Right are:MUG Duochrome 12

  • Voltage
  • I’m Peachless
  • Mai Tai
  • Phantom
  • Blacklight
  • Rockstar
  • Karma
  • Ritzy
  • Typhoon
  • Havoc
  • Steampunk
  • Secret Garden

Here are the 6 light shadows swatched from Top to bottom, left to right:MUG Light Duochrome swatch

  • Voltage (Silver + Yellow)
  • I’m Peachless (Pink/ Peach + Gold)
  • Mai Tia (Bright Pink + Peachy Orange)
  • Phantom (Silver + Lilac)
  • Blacklight (Purple + Aqua)
  • Rockstar ( Silver + Pink. Rockstar is VERY hard to capture on camera. Trust me on this though, it is beautiful. A dark purple in the crease or even a black and this colour POPS!)

Here are the 6 Dark shadows swatched from Top to Bottom, Left to Right:MUG Duochrome Dark Swatch

  • Karma (Gold + Yellow)
  • Ritzy (Rust+ Copper)
  • Typhoon (Green + Blue)
  • Havoc (Brown + Blue/Green)
  • Steam Punk (Copper + Black)
  • Secret Garden (Green + Black)

These shadows are super creamy, and colour payoff is amazing. I do find however, that the duo chrome effect doesn’t really show up unless they are wet. (This is even more apparent in the light shades…) So if you spritz a small amount of M.A.C Fix+ or some sort of facial mist onto your brush before you use them, they are killer! I love them! My favourite shade is Ritzy. It is this dirty gold/green/rust colour. It looks great with brown eyes and would look awesome on darker skin tones as well. When I used this shadow, I buffed MUG Barcelona Beach and Bitten into the crease then applied Ritzy all over the lid.

BAM!

Instant smokey eye that wasn’t your typical brown/black/grey. It looked amazing! It was warm toned with such a unique colour, I don’t think I could have duped it if I tried. So using them wet is a must, BUT if you use them dry, they are really nice as well, just a lot softer in the duo chrome department.

I have ordered some of the pigments, (WildFire, Kaleidoscope and Mood Ring) and when I try them out, I will let you know what I think of them. Typically though, pigments have better payoff over shadows. Shadows just tend to be less messy, and easier to use. (Which is why I prefer shadows because I am messy on a good day…

Let me know what you think of these shadows, or if you would like to see a walk through tutorial using them!

Until Next Time

XO

Breanna

Leave a Reply

