Story Time · Uncategorized

Book Club Selections: January

So the book for January was a total bust for me.

I HATED IT.

I couldn’t finish the book. Which is something I really dislike doing. I try to give each book a fair chance, and I try my best to get through it. I try to keep an open mind, and explore titles I wouldn’t normally choose. I try to branch out and be adventurous. Which is what Book Club is all about for me. But last months book was not my cup of tea.

The club wanted to choose something that was based on a true story, a memoir, a true adventure novel, anything along those lines. We made our suggestions, and the group chose:

Three Cups of Tea by  David Oliver Relin and Greg Mortenson. 

January Book Club

Again, it was a book out of my comfort zone. I don’t usually like memoirs as they can be a little preachy, but I was going to give this book a fair chance. When I asked what the synopsis of the book was, I got a little bit excited.

It’s the story of Greg Mortenson and how he opened up multiple schools for girls in remote areas of Pakistan and Afghanistan in an attempt to combat terrorism, reduce poverty and elevate education for young females.

Sounds like it would be good right? That’s what I thought too, until I started reading the pages of this book.

Don’t get me wrong, what this man did in these counties is phenomenal. I respect him for that greatly. What he did for these girls is amazing, but I don’t want to read about it in a book that tells me that my life is meaningless unless I do something this great too.

Basically the author makes you feel like Greg Mortenson is everything and you are nothing. I don’t know about you, but I don’t need that kind of negativity in my life. Life is hard enough as it is, I don’t need some book lecturing me about how I should be living it. The tone of the novel put me off right from the get go, and I could barely get passed chapter three.

If anyone else has read this novel and has inspiring words about it, please share them. If I should give this book another go I will try, but only if I hear some positive reviews.

There was only one person in my Book Club to read the entire novel. She agreed that the novel was very condescending, but she did enjoy the stories of the other people Greg met along the way; the elders who taught him life lessons.

The rest of the members couldn’t get through the novel either, so I know it wasn’t just me who had a hard time of it.

February’s pick, Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins, is shaping up to be much, much better.

Stay tuned! 

Until Next Time

XO

Breanna

 

Leave a Reply

